Research Committee

The CAHO Research Committee provides strategic advice to CAHO Council on health research matters stemming from and impacting CAHO’s mission, with a representative view of the full spectrum of health research that takes place at CAHO hospitals. This includes strategizing on how to advance the stability of and investment in the health research and innovation enterprise in CAHO hospitals. The Committee is comprised of 27 senior research executives (Vice Presidents of Research or equivalent) and clinical practice leaders from CAHO hospitals.

Current Committee foci include: the advancement of clinical trials in Ontario; recommendation of research evidence that can be implemented into practice through the CAHO Adopting Research to Improve Care (ARTIC) Program; and advice on health research strategy and funding in Ontario.

Dr. Duncan Stewart (Co-Chair)
CEO, Ottawa Hospital RI & VP Research
The Ottawa Hospital

Dr. Jim Woodgett (Co-Chair)
Director, Samuel Lunenfeld RI
Mount Sinai Hospital

Dr. Tom Chau
VP Research & Director
Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital

Dr. Mark Crowther
VP Research
St. Joesph’s Healthcare Hamilton

Dr. Roger Deeley
VP Health Sciences Research
Kingston General Hospital

Dr. Roxanne Deslauriers
Acting VP Research
Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre

Dr. Francisco Diaz-Mitoma
VP Research
Health Sciences North

Dr. David Hill
Integrated VP Research & Chief Scientific Director
London Health Sciences Centre

Dr. Michael Julius
VP Research
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Lisa Malbrecht
Director, Complex Care and Ambulatory Care
St. Joseph’s Health Care, London

Dr. Randy McIntosh
Director, Rotman Research Institute & VP Research
Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care

Dr. Zul Merali
President & CEO, University of Ottawa IMHR
Royal Ottawa Health Care Group

Dr. Benoit Mulsant (Clinical Practice Rep)
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

Dr. Martin Osmond
VP Research & Chief Scientist, CHEO RI
Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Dr. Christopher Paige
VP Research
University Health Network

Dr. David Pichora
Hotel Dieu Hospital Kingston

Dr. Bruce Pollock
VP Research
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

Dr. Denis Prud’homme
Associate VP & Scientific Director
Hôpital Montfort

Dr. Paula Rochon
VP Research
Women’s College Hospital

Dr. Janet Rossant
Chief of Research
The Hospital for Sick Children

Dr. Arthur Slutsky
VP Research
St. Michael’s

Dr. Peter Walker
CEO, Scientific Director, Bruyère RI & VP Research and Academic Affairs
Bruyère Continuing Care

Dr. Michael Wood
Director, Office of Research & Innovation
North York General

Hamilton Health Sciences

CAHO Secretariat

Karen Michell
Executive Director
Lauren Ettin
Director, Policy & Member Relations
Elaine Kachala
Policy Advisor